The Honor System was established at Lawrence in 1962 and reflects a central value of Lawrence: academic integrity.

Unlike honor systems run by administrators or panels of faculty members, Lawrence’s system is overseen by an Honor Council composed entirely of students and it is designed to promote a trusting and open environment by fostering honest behavior. The Faculty entrusts the students to act on behalf of the Lawrence academic community.

The Honor Code

No Lawrence student will unfairly advance their own academic performance or in any way limit or impede the academic pursuits of other students of the Lawrence community.

Students who matriculate at Lawrence sign the Honor Pledge during welcome week and then reaffirm the Honor Code on all submitted work by writing "I hereby reaffirm the Lawrence University Honor Code"--or "IHRTLUHC"--followed by a signature.

The Honor Code is a great privilege and responsibility. Faculty members trust that students will do honest academic work, and this trust creates an atmosphere in which students can work without constant surveillance. As such, the entire community is responsible for creating and maintaining the atmosphere of integrity that is so much a part of who we are here at Lawrence. 

The Honor Council

The Honor Council is a group of Lawrence students that works on behalf of the entire Lawrence community to uphold the Honor Code and to encourage fair and honest academic work. The Council functions as an educational resource, informing students and faculty of the implications of the Honor Code and the situations that fall under the Council's jurisdiction. As the need arises, the Council also functions as a judicial body, convening hearings in response to alleged violations of the Honor Code.

Members of the Lawrence community should feel free to contact any member of the Honor Council. If they talk to a Council member about a possible Honor Code violation, they are under no obligation to pursue additional action.

Honor Council Leadership

Faculty Advisor: Jonathan Lhost 
Academic Integrity Committee: Garth Bond - Chair, Matt Ansfield, Alex Heaton
Honor Council: Paola Saldana Galvan - Co-chair, Caleb Yuan - Co-chair, Rodrigo Angulo, Madison Clark, CJ Gilliam, Avery E. Greene, Gregory Hamilton, Rain Orsi, Matthew Pavlik, Eliana Stern, Claire Vanden Heuvel, Gigi Wood

Connect with the Honor Council

Questions about the Lawrence Honor System? Contact the Honor Council at