Mission

The Lawrence University Archives promotes understanding of Lawrence and Milwaukee-Downer College history by collecting, preserving, and making accessible unique materials that document this history. It is the official repository for University records of enduring value. In supporting the research needs of Lawrence students, faculty, staff, alumni, and members of the wider community, the Archives helps fulfill the teaching and learning mission of the University.

On This Day in Lawrence History...

August 3, 1996: The new Bjorklunden Lodge opened its doors, replacing the lodge that had been destroyed by fire three years earlier.
August 5, 1874: To cover debts, trustees sold all Lawrence-owned land north of College Avenue. This land was not regained until the Memorial Chapel was built in 1917.
August 7, 2006: President Beck announced the largest philanthropic gift to Lawrence to date, an anonymous $15 million donation.
August 9, 1848: At their second annual meeting, the Board of Trustees finalized their decision to locate the institution at what was then known as "Grand Chute."
August 15, 1993: The original Bjorklunden lodge was heavily damaged by fire, destroying much of the original murals, furniture and woodwork by Winifred Boynton. The entire lodge was razed soon after the fire.
August 20, 1846: Amos A. Lawrence wrote to Reeder Smith, commissioning him to investigate the possibility of establishing a college on his land in Wisconsin.
August 22, 1886: Amos A. Lawrence died at his home in Massachusetts.

What's new?

Class of 2016 Archives Project

Thu, 05/19/2016 - 8:54am
Calling all seniors: the LU Archives is seeking to expand our documentation of student life at Lawrence, and we need your help! This is an opportunity to reflect on and share with future generations of Lawrentians a bit about what life has been like for you as a student at Lawrence in the 2010s. If … Continue reading Class of 2016 Archives Project

Addition to online Lawrentian collection

Thu, 05/12/2016 - 11:44am
Three years ago, we debuted an online collection of digitized issues of The Lawrentian available through our institutional repository.  The collection contained issues dating from 1923 to 1992, digitized from microfilm at the Wisconsin Historical Society. Since this time we have added issues dating from 2006 to the present. But until recently we had a … Continue reading Addition to online Lawrentian collection

Hours and location

During the summer, the Archives is open by appointment only to ensure staff availability. Please contact us at archives@lawrence.edu or (920) 832-6753.

The Archives is located on Level B of the Seeley G. Mudd Library, between floors 2 and 3.

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube LarryU