Alumni Profiles

Claire (Weiss) Brennan ('07)

Claire BrennanAfter graduating from Lawrence in 2007, Claire (Weiss) Brennan went on to earn her PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Connecticut (UConn).  During her summers in graduate school, Claire traveled to Maryland to continue her research on complex oxide thin film materials at the Army Research Laboratory (ARL) in Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.  She received the SMART (Science, Mathematics, and Research for Transformation) Scholarship in 2009, which provided the opportunity for her to work at ARL after graduating from UConn.  Claire worked at ARL from 2012-2014, where her research focused on ceramic materials for armor and energy storage applications.  She then moved back to the midwest in late 2014 to pursue a new career path in the Aerospace industry.  Claire has been working at UTC Aerospace Systems in Rockford, IL since January 2015, where she works in the Materials and Process Engineering group,  performing failure analysis on a variety of aircraft components as well operations support and design support for various electronic components.  In her spare time, Claire loves reading and spending time with her husband, Bobby, daughter, Coraline, and dog, Rosie.

Paul Schonfeld ('05)

Paul SchonfeldPaul Schonfeld (’05) is in his sixth year of teaching physics and computer science at Marshall School in Duluth, Minnesota where he also coaches the robotics team.  He was a natural sciences interdisciplinary major (physics & geology) at Lawrence. He drew inspiration as an undergraduate from 1) a 2003 NSF REU summer program in Alaska,  2) the physical electronics course (PHYS 220) he took with Professor John Brandenberger, 3) geology courses with Professor Marcia Bjørnerud (that led to a two-year job after graduation making educational videos for W.H. Freeman), and 4) a project he proposed during his ACM study abroad program in Costa Rica called “Studying the Physics of Waves.”  Paul continues to study the waves of Lake Superior on surfboard, wearing his wetsuit.
From 2008-2010 Paul worked for i-cubed, LLC, helping develop tools for processing satellite imagery.  After a 5-month hiatus in Peru (which involved surfing), Paul return to school at UW-La Crosse, where he earned his Masters of Education and his teaching license.  After completing his student teaching at Little Chute High School, Paul landed at Marshall School.  He says “I am happy to be at a school that supports a Liberal Arts education … [T]his year I look forward to collaborating with a colleague and students on a class [on] making digital music through programing and electronics.”

Graduates of the Lawrence Physics Program

LU Senior Physics Photo 2019


Constable, Ben

Fletcher, Emma

Garrido Tomasini, Julian

Germaine, David

Jensen, Jeremiah

Kerin, Sam

Latour, Giorgio

Loehrke, Sabrina

Manning, Zach

Myers, Lucas

Nirwan, Ripudaman Singh

Shon, Alex

Swanson, Kate

Xie, Junlin

Physics grad 2018


Gardill, Aedan

Trong Nam, Anh Hoang

Kortenhof, Theodore

Loeffler, Nicholas

Mangian, John

Rabideau, Zachary

Tomhave, Benjamin

2017 Physics Majors


Ashmore, Rylo (m)

Jarjour, Sami

Kiehl, Christopher

Lex, Alicia (m)

Liberko, Joseph

Marshall, Albert

Poole, Cody

Ranumas, J.P. (Jatuporn)

Ristow, Clayton

Roedl, Erika

Roque, Benjamin

Shahbazi, Alexander

Yu, Peiying

Physics Seniors 2016


Clark, Benjamin

Cook, Owen

Edwards, Kirstin

Elizondro Rueda, Eduardo (m)

Grudichak, Scott

Hosmer-Quint, John

Lapp, William

Le, Phong (m)

Lindley, Rachel

Micinski, Emma

Sussman, Leo

Tse, Jeffrey (m)

Tse, Timothy (m)

Wang, Kangkang

Weikel, Stephen

Graduates of 20152015

Betzold, Amber

Coenen, Ashley

D'Souza, Sanfer

Doares, Andrew (Drew)

Kozloff, David

Liang, Tianchu (Alex)

Martinez Zambrano, Daniel

Rasmussen, Tanner



Cullen, Joseph

Friend, Michael (m)

Gabriel, Hannah

Herman, Alyssa (m)

Hoang, The Gia (m)

Jakes, Will

Lohrmann, Erich

Patterson, Alex

Sinai-Yunker, Cooper

Van de Graaff, Michael

Wennerstrom, Michael



Black, Gus (m)

Dempsey, Jack (m)

Mayer, Karl

Price, Micah

Thayer, Travis

Williamson, Ellie

Wright, Aaron


Darrell, James

Exarhos, Stephen

Klocke, Melissa

Miller, Joia

Qiu, Fangzhou (Frederick)

Readinger, Adam

Strehlow, Henry

Van Hoozen, Brian

Zhang, Zhe


Corsbie, Chris (m)

Bodee, Brad

Bodnar, Carol

Choudhury, Faraz

Frater, Eric

Glenn, Lawrence

Gray, Kelsey

Knoedler, Andrew

Lerch, Amelia

Stephenson, Alyssa


Meichle, David

Niederriter, Rob

O'Halloran, Joe

Treiman, Michael

Ziege, Julia


Anderson, Matt

Fulton, Daniel

Harbage, David

Huck, Peter

Malyshev, Gennady

Marheine, Sarah

Peck, Emily

Phillippi, Andrew

Robert, Domi

Rude, Sara

Smoniewski, Jason

Solberg, Jeffery

Toussaint, Ted

Van Camp, Mackie

Zehfus, Corey


Bajracharya, Anmol

Curry, Sarah

Dowd, Will

Garbacik, Erik

Geisthardt, Russell

Gerrity, Randy

Halverson, Max

Hector, Julian

Kane, Andrew

Maas, Robert

Megow, Erik

Pierquet, Michael

Rubin, Jacob

Sit, Stefany

VanArsdale, Michael

Weber, Karl


Exarhos, Annemarie

Ha, Bao

Hawley, Chris

Lasowski, Matt

Rice, Brandon

Schneck, Maureen

Schwert, Brent

Weiss, Claire


Borej, Bart

Burton, Amanda

Casner, Dan

Dolan, Kyle

Douglas, Nat

Goil, Aditya

Griffith, Jon

McNeil, Henry

Rodenbeck, Joe

Ryan, Duncan

Silwal, Rupesh

Stackpole, Matt

Teodoro-Dier, Adriana

Tipping, Bradley


Bhinge, Rahul

Brown, Edward

Dogaru, Alex

Evans, April

Hahn, Steven

Kost, Lauren

Kunwar, Samridha

Mauro, Nick

Schonfeld, Paul

Warmington, Leighton


Dietrich, Matt

Gooden, Dmitri

Kaminski, Scott

Kruesi, Liz

Levin-Koopman, Jason

Mills, Dwight

Milne, Michelle

Schendel, Megan


Curtis, Val

Growdon, Mark

Heitman, Kristen

Kohlmann, Steve

Krupka, Nick

Peterson, Ace

Phelps, Chris

Robinson, Kim

Sonderegger, Evan

Wells, Joe

Witt, Suzanne


Dralus, Danica

Jung, Ryan

Marksteiner, Quinn

Phillips, Wellington

Thuecks, Derek

Tice, Dane

Sampson, Robin


Bluett, Jaques

Cross, Josh

Gauthier, Rudy

Johnson, Leif

Kopp, Angela

Pelzer, Adam

Regal, Cindy

Schmitt, Stuart

Theiss, Adam

Vande Hey, Josh

Warrick, Jay

Yakes, Michael


Dunleavy, Teresa

Kondratko, Paul

Reeves, Jessica


Beck, Tim

Brubaker, Erik

Fernandez, Luz

Holst, William

Moore, Eric

Nongkynrih, Neville

Sezer, Ben

Steffen, Leta

Tamamoto, Brent

Taylor, Kurt

Trigg, Scott

Walby, Chad


Donnelly, Michael

Dostal, David

Lewandowski, Amie

Nishimura, Michael

Nornberg, Mark

Shaw, Scot

Truitt, Jim


Bassett, Alfred

Delaney, Scott

Feist, Jeffrey

Fiora, Renate

Harrington, David

Kimball, Paul

Miller, Tim

Murschel, Scott

Schmidt, Chris

Smith, Wade

Stenner, Michael

Syed, Sheyum

Thompson, Todd

Thorne, Adam

Tong, Anthony

Tourdot, William