The President’s Cabinet and the Office of the President support President Laurie A. Carter to ensure that the university meets its mission, pursues its strategic goals, and ensures the well-being of the university and its community. Cabinet members represent all areas of the institution.

The President's Cabinet

Peter Blitstein

Peter A. Blitstein (He/Him/His)

Provost and Dean of the Faculty and Associate Professor of History

Peter Blitstein is a historian of modern Russia specializing in the Soviet period and the history of nationalism and ethnicity.  He teaches courses on all aspects of Russian history, the history of intelligence agencies and state security, and historical theory.

View full profile
Profile pic

Samir Datta

Vice President for Finance and Administration

As the Vice President for Finance and Administration, Samir serves as the Chief Financial Officer at Lawrence University and is responsible for overseeing Finance, Information Technology, Human Resources and Facilities Operations.

View full profile
profile photo

Adam Galambos (he/him)

Dwight and Marjorie Peterson Professor of Innovation and Associate Professor of Economics

My research experience is in microeconomic theory and game theory, and these are fields that I teach as well. I also enjoy teaching in the Innovation and Entrepreneurship program. I am interested in pedagogical innovation, especially at liberal arts colleges. 

View full profile
Vice President for Alumni and Development

Calvin D. Husmann

Senior Vice President for Alumni, Development, and Communications

I work with colleagues to ensure our fundraising and alumni and community engagement programs are as effective and efficient as possible.  The Lawrence community is fiercely loyal and generous.  It is an honor to work with Lawrentians to help advance Lawrence.


View full profile
Brian Pertl, Dean of the Lawrence Conservatory of Music. Photo Credit: Graham Washatka

Brian G. Pertl (He/Him)

Dean of the Conservatory of Music

I am excited and honored to be leading the Lawrence Conservatory of Music.  I am passionate about helping our incredible students, faculty, and staff reach their full potential as musicians, scholars, artists, and world-changing leaders in a culture of collaboration, creativity, curiosity, possib

View full profile

Office of the President


Andrea Thorsbakken (she/her/hers)

Executive Assistant to the President

I joined the Office of the President as Executive Assistant in December 2021. In this role, I provide day-to-day operational support to President Laurie Carter. I'm a super organized person, and I love using my skills to ensure the President's Office runs smoothly and efficiently. 

View full profile