Lawrence University is a residential liberal arts college and conservatory of music, both devoted exclusively to undergraduate education.

Lawrence is a supportive and welcoming academic community of 1,500 intellectually curious, diverse, multi-interested students from nearly every state and 50 countries—all committed to a rigorous and challenging educational experience.

Led by a faculty of 173 professors* (91 percent of whom have a Ph.D. or other terminal degree), Lawrence is devoted to Engaged Learning as the most effective way to prepare students for lives of personal fulfillment and professional accomplishment. It is a demanding approach to education for students who demand much of themselves. Engaged Learning takes place in the classroom, the residence hall, the community and all our off-campus and international programs. It is what characterizes a Lawrence education and distinguishes Lawrentians.

Using this engaging approach to learning, Lawrence helps students develop the abilities that are highly valued by graduate schools as well as employers. Among these are the ability to solve problems, communicate effectively, work collaboratively and thrive in a rapidly changing world.

Lawrence is located adjacent to downtown Appleton, a vibrant city of 74,000 (situated in a growing metropolitan area of 250,000) in which the community and the college benefit from one another.

* That works out to a 8 to 1 student to faculty ratio, one of the smallest in the country. Looking at it another way, Lawrence has more professors per student than nearly every other college in the country. (The translation? You will have plenty of opportunities to collaborate with your professors.)

Lawrence at a Glance

Founded: 1847

President: Laurie A. Carter

Enrollment: 1,472

Student Representation: 47 states and District of Columbia; more than 45 countries

Degrees:  Bachelor of Arts; Bachelor of Music; combined 5-year double degree Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Music

Majors: Bachelor of Arts—35; Bachelor of Music—4; Interdisciplinary Areas of Concentration—3

Full-Time Faculty: 173

Student-Faculty Ratio: 8:1

Academic Calendar: Three 10-week terms (Fall, Winter, Spring)

Campus: 62 instructional, residential, recreational and administrative facilities; The Lawrence London Centre, located in the Bloomsbury neighborhood of London; Björklunden vid Sjön, a 441-acre estate on Lake Michigan in Door County, serves as the college’s northern campus.

Athletics: NCAA Division III; founding member of the Midwest Conference

Athletic Teams: 22 varsity teams, 11 for men, 11 for women

Athletic Nickname: Vikings

Phone Number: 920-832-7000

Mailing Address: 711 E. Boldt Way, Appleton, WI 54911