History of the Symposium

“The intimate intellectual association of students and faculty members is a central characteristic of Lawrence’s approach to undergraduate education”
–Richard A. Harrison

1996 First Annual Student Humanities and Social Sciences Symposium
1997 Second Annual Student Humanities and Social Sciences Symposium
December 1997 Death of Richard A. Harrison, Dean of the Faculty
1999 First Richard A. Harrison Symposium in the Humanities and Social Sciences

Past Award Recipients

The Richard A. Harrison Award supports student research projects leading to presentations at the annual symposium.

1999 Gina Collins
2000 Amy Stalp
2001 Amy Stalp
2002 Amy Seeboth
2003 Julia Beiein
2004 Jessica Whitehead
2005 Alex Wack and Daosavanh Phakeovilay
2006 Sarah Szabo
2007 Natasha Quesnell-Theno
2008 Madhuri Vijay
2009 Christopher McGeorge
2010 Sarah Young
2011 Christina Hughes
2012 Adrienne Atkins and Yang Hua
2013 Zach Simmering
2014 Eli Massey