The Lawrence University Conservatory offers high caliber competitions open to all students. Below you can find competition guidelines, dates and times, as well as past competition winners.

This helpful guide provides information on the competition, including dates and how to prepare.

Download, complete and return this form to Professor Mast by January 16, 2023 to register for the competition. 

Past Competition Winners

  • 2024: Evan Ney, saxophone – Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble by Ingolf Dahl
  • 2023: Gabriel Reyes, saxophone – Diversion for Alto Saxophone and Concert Band by Bernhard Heiden
  • 2022: Cindy Kaiser, piccolo – Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra by Lowell Liebermann
  • 2020: Juan Hernandez, flute – Flute Concerto by Jacques Ibert
  • 2019 co-winners:
    • Abbey Atwater, clarinet – Brooklyn Bridge by Michael Daugherty
    • Matt Fowler, saxophone – Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Concert Band by Karel Husa
  • 2018: Stuart Young, bassoon – Concerto for Bassoon and Band by Gordon Jacob
  • 2017: Bianca Pratte, flute – La Flûte de Pan by Jules Mouquet
  • 2016: Anne Daley, flute – Flute Concerto by Carl Reinecke
  • 2015: Dylan Younger, clarinet – Black Dog by Scott McAllister
  • 2014: Elizabeth Schmidt, horn – Horn Concerto by Reinhold Glière