board of trustees 2020

The trustees of Lawrence University are responsible for the stewardship and wellbeing of the institution Amos Lawrence called "a great and good work." Leadership from the Board supports the development of strategic initiatives and priorities, and also ensures the fiscal and operational health of the University through management of the institution's investments and oversight of its finances. The Board also keeps abreast of the rapidly changing higher-education sector and works collaboratively with the administration to plot a course for the future of Lawrence.

The Board consists of between 25 and 35 elected Term Trustees, 60 percent of whom must be alumni of the University, up to three Recent Graduate Trustees, and the President of the University. Each Term Trustee serves a three-year term and is eligible for reelection for four consecutive, full terms. Trustees who have reached a term limit may not be reelected to renew service before taking a one-year hiatus. Recent Graduate Trustees are eligible for a single three-year term, and may not be elected to Term Trustee status until completion of at least a one year hiatus. The chair of the Faculty Governance Committee and the presidents of the Lawrence University Community Council and the Lawrence University Alumni Association Board observe meetings of the Board of Trustees. 

Formal meetings of the Lawrence University Board of Trustees are held three times during the academic year; in the Fall, Winter and Spring Terms. Special meetings of the Board may be called at any time, and a number of committees meet between formal meetings as business requires.

Fall 2019 Meeting Summary

The Board of Trustees held its Fall Meeting and retreat from October 30 to November 1, 2019 at Lawrence’s northern campus, Björklunden vid Sjön. The purpose of the retreat was to review data on the higher education sector, discuss survey results on Lawrence’s institutional identity, and review the Veritas est Lux implementation plan, which will guide institutional work for the next three years.

Lawrence’s Strategic Plan, Veritas est Lux, identifies a wide range of institutional aspirations. Extensive research and institutional data have enabled the University to focus on its most pressing needs in light of the rapidly changing higher education sector. Discussion at the fall retreat centered on establishing a clear and highly focused approach for advancing Lawrence’s development over the next three years in the form of an implementation plan. The implementation plan outlines five priority areas which were developed through a process that began at the Spring 2019 Meeting of the Board of Trustees. Paramount to our implementation efforts will be to (1) sustain financial equilibrium, (2) deepen the academic program, (3) raise retention rates, (4) strengthen the co-curricular experience, (5) and support the academic enterprise.

The formal meeting of the Board took place on November 1, 2019. During the meeting, reports were delivered from the President and the Chair of the Board. Trustees approved the granting of an honorary degree for Commencement 2020.

In the course of the meeting, the Board:

• Approved the granting of an honorary degree during 2020 Commencement.

The next meeting of the Board is scheduled for February 5-7, 2020.

Upcoming Dates


Fall Board Meeting
October 21-23, 2020

December Committee Meetings
December 8, 2020

Winter Board Meeting
February 17-19, 2021

Spring Board Meeting
May 12-14, 2021