Lawrence University Wind Ensemble

Andy Mast, conductor
2021-2022 season
 

In our efforts to keep our campus and community healthy, Lawrence University is closed to the public until further notice. In-person attendance at concerts will be limited to Lawrence students, faculty, and staff only.

Click here to watch a live concert webcast.

Repertoire subject to change for educational and artistic reasons

Friday October 15 8:00 PM
Combined with Symphonic Band
Dress rehearsal Thursday, October 14 8PM-10:30PM*
Carolyn Bremer - Early Light
Nicky Sohn – Elegy for Wind Ensembl
Aaron Copland – Emblems

Wednesday November 17 8:00 PM
Combined with Symphonic Band
Dress rehearsal Tuesday, November 16 6PM-10PM*
Yo Goto – Lachrymae
Andrew Rindleisch – The Light Fantastic

Sunday January 23 Noon-4 PM
Wind Ensemble Concerto Competition Auditions

Saturday February 26 8:00 PM
Dress rehearsal 9AM-1PM*
Wind Ensemble
David Biedenbender – Their Eyes are Fireflies 
  Ava Ordman, trombone
Kazuhiro Morita, arr. Joe Hisaishi and Yumi Kimura – Spirited Away
Other repertoire TBA

Saturday April 16  8:00 PM
Combined with Symphonic Band
Dress rehearsal 9AM-1PM*
Ricardo Lorenz – Caminantes
John Frantzen – Double Concerto
  Samantha George, violin and Horacio Contreras, cello

Saturday May 21  8:00 PM
Dress rehearsal 9AM-1PM*
Ken Amis  - Driven
Evan Williams (’10) – Lux Aeterna
James Stephenson – Symphony No. 2 “Voices”
Winner, 2022 LUWE Concerto Competition

Grad Band”for commencement (comprised of non-graduating students from SB or WE, info coming spring term)
Park Concert – Saturday, June 11 12:00 noon
Commencement – Sunday, June 12

* - The specific schedule for dress rehearsals will be determined closer to the date. The posted times indicate reserved time in the Chapel but not all of which will be used, especially for combined concerts.