Winter Term 2015

  • Faculty Recital: Michael Mizrahi, piano. Beethoven's Appassionata and the premieres of new works by Asha Srinivasan, Patrick Burke, and Mark Dancigers. Sunday, Jan. 11, 8 pm, Lawrence Memorial Chapel

  • Faculty Recital: Karen Leigh Post, soprano, with Anthony Padilla, piano, Saturday, Jan. 17, 8 pm, Chapel

  • Faculty Recital: Steven Spears, Tenor, with Catherine Kautsky, piano. Schubert’s Winterreise. Friday, Jan. 23, 8 pm, Chapel

  • Guest Masterclass: James McCormick, Saturday, Jan. 24, 1-3pm, Harper Hall

  • Faculty Recital: Cathy Kautsky, piano. Sunday, February 22, 6 pm, Chapel.

  • [CANCELED:  Student Junior Recital: Joey Arkfeld, piano, Friday, Feb. 27, 7 pm, Harper - PLEASE NOTE: POSTPONED TO THURSDAY, APRIL 2, 8 PM, HARPER]

  • Guest Recital: Ieva Jokubaviciute, piano. Friday, Feb. 27, 8 pm Harper

  • Guest Masterclass, Lecture and Teaching Demo: Marvin Blickenstaff. Sunday, March 1, 1-6 pm Harper, specific times see below

  • Marvin Blickenstaff,  March 1, 2015,  Harper  Hall
    1:00-2:00 Lecture   Doing What Comes Naturally:  Nature's Clues to Effective Interpretation

    2:15- 3 :45  Masterclass
    Heller Curious Story—Kaden Van De Loo, 7th grade (Mary)
    Bach Prelude in B-Flat—Emily Hauer, 7th grade (Catherine)
    Haydn "Diverse Piece”—Patrick Bielmeier, 7th grade (Michael)
    Chopin Valse Brillante, Op. 24 No. 2—Colin Mayo, 7th grade (Larisa)
    Haydn Sonata in B Minor, first mvt.  Milou DeMeij  (Cathy Kautsky)

    Break with refreshments

    4:15- 5:15 Teaching demo (3 student/teacher scenarios)
  • Keyboard Department Recital, Tuesday, March 10, 8 pm, Chapel

  • Beethoven Cello Sonatas Project, Esch Hurvis room, Warch Campus Center, Wed., March 11, **TIME CHANGE: 6 pm**

  • World Music Series: Sahba Montallebi, Wednesday, March 11, 8 pm, Harper (required for Freshmen, recommended for everyone else)

  • Artist Series: Heidi Stober, soprano, Friday, March 13,  8 pm

Fall Term 2014

  • Wednesday, September 17 - Faculty Recital, Bill Carrothers, Harper, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, September 24 - World Music Series, Canzoniere Grecanico Salentino, Stansbury, 8 pm (required for Freshmen, recommended for everyone else)

  • Saturday, September 27 - Student recital, Gabi Makuc, Harper, 1 pm

  • Wednesday, October 1 - New Music Series, "In C" with special guest Stuart Dempster, Chapel, 8 pm (recommended)

  • Saturday, October 4 - Guest Recital, Alisa Jordheim, sopr, with C. Kautsky, piano, Harper, 3 pm (recommended)

  • Sunday, October 12 - Faculty Recital, Janet Anthony, cello, Erin Lesser, fl, A. Padilla, piano, Harper, 3 pm

  • Thursday, October 16 - Guest Masterclass, Wu Han, piano, Harper, 8 pm

  • Friday, October 17 - Chamber Music class, Wu Han, David Finckel, Philip Setzer, Harper, 4:30 pm

  • Friday, October 17 - Artist Series, David Finckel, cello, Wu Han, piano, Philip Setzer, vln, Chapel, 8 pm*

  • Sunday, October 19 - Student Recital, Jonathan Hanrahan, Harper, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, October 22 - New Music Series, Yarn/Wire (two pianos and two percussion), Chapel, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, October 28 - Guest Recital, Jean-Baptiste Robin, organ, Chapel, 8 pm

  • Friday, October 31 - Student Recital, Jonathan Fagan, Harper, 8 pm

  • Saturday, November 1 - Student Recital, Maddie Scholl, Harper, 1 pm

  • Sunday, November 9 - Keyboard Department Recital, Chapel, 8 pm

  • Saturday, November 15 - Student Recital, Tess Vogel, Harper, 1 pm

  • Saturday, November 15 - Student Recital, Thomas Lee, Harper, 3 pm

  • Tuesday, November 18 - Lawrence Symphony Orchestra, C. Kautsky and A. Padilla, soloists, Chapel, 8 pm

 

*tickets required, but free for BMus students if you pick them up at the box office PRIOR to the performance

Spring Term 2014

•   Saturday, April 5 - World Music Series: Alash Ensemble. Chapel, 8 PM. (Required for freshmen, recommended for everyone else).

•   Wednesday, April 9 – Guest recital: Decoda, featuring Michael Mizrahi, piano. Harper Hall, 8 PM.

•   Friday, April 11 – Artist Series: Orion Weiss, piano. Chapel, 8 PM. Free tickets are available to BMus students at the Box Office in advance.

•   Saturday, April 12 – Masterclass: Orion Weiss, piano. Heid Music (308 E. College Ave.), 10 AM.

•   Saturday, April 12 – Student recital: Casey Kadlubowski, Harper Hall, 6:30 PM

•   Friday, April 18 - Artist Series: Seraphic Fire with Spektral Quartet. Chapel, 8 PM. Free tickets are available to BMus students at the Box Office in advance.

•   Tuesday, Apr. 22 - Guest Masterclss: Laurens Patzlaff. Classical Improvisation. Chapel, 8:30 pm

•   Wednesday, April 23 – Student recital: Seth King-Gengler, Harper Hall, 8 PM

•   CANCELED: Sunday, May 4 - Guest recital: Jory Vinikour, harpsichord, Harper Hall, 8 PM

•   Thursday, May 15 – Student recital: Tia Lehman-Pearsall, Harper Hall, 8 PM

•   Saturday, May 17 - Student recital: Elizabeth Vaughan, Harper Hall, 3 PM

•   Tuesday, May 20 – Keyboard Department Recital, 8:30 PM, Chapel

*  Saturday, May 24 - Student recital: Catherine Smith, Harper Hall, 1 PM

•   Saturday, May 24 – Student recital: Daniel Kuzuhara, Harper Hall, 5 PM

*  Tuesday, May 27 - Mizrahi Studio Recital, Harper Hall, 8 PM. 21st-century piano works. [recommended]

•   Thursday, May 29 - University Convocation, Catherine Kautsky. “Whispered doubts and shouted convictions: what are these composers saying?”  11:10 am, Chapel

•   Friday, May 30 – Student recital: Benny Wollin, Harper Hall, 6:30 PM

•   Sunday, June 1 - World Music Series: Gamelan Ensemble with Emiko Saraswati Susilo. Chapel, 3 PM. (Required for freshmen, recommended for everyone else).

•   Wednesday, June 4 – Student recital: Le Kong, Harper Hall, 6 PM

•   Wednesday, June 4 - Student recital: Cameron Pieper, Harper Hall, 8 PM

•   Thursday, June 5 –Student recital: Clare O’Connor, Harper Hall, 8 PM

Winter Term 2014

  • Friday, January 10, 8 p.m., Harper Hall - New Music at Lawrence: Clarinetist Michael Maccaferri from Eighth Blackbird [recommended]
  • Sunday, January 12, 4 p.m., Wriston Auditorium – Guest Presentation:  Bertand Cattiaux. "The Sights and Sounds of French Organ Building" [recommended]
  • Sunday, January 12, 6 p.m., Lawrence Memorial Chapel - Faculty Recital: Steven Paul Spears, tenor with Michael Mizrahi, Linda Sparks, and Nathan Birkholz, piano.  Beethoven's An die ferne Geliebte; works by Poulenc, Strauss, Britten, Previn
  • Sunday, January 26, 4 p.m., Lawrence Memorial Chapel - Faculty Recital:  Matthew Michelic, viola; Anthony Padilla, piano; works by Elliott Carter, Rebecca Clarke, and Harald Genzmer
  • Friday, January 31, 8 p.m., Lawrence Memorial Chapel - Faculty Recital: Steven Paul Spears, tenor with Catherine Kautsky, piano. Schubert's Winterreise
  • Tuesday, February 4, 8 p.m., Harper Hall - Catherine Kautsky's Piano Studio Recital: Goldberg Variations Past & Present
  • Saturday, February 8, 11 a.m., Harper Hall - Student Recital: Jonathan Fagan, piano with Ben Phillips, trumpet
  • Saturday, February 8, 1:15 p.m., Chapel stage – Artist Series masterclass: Julio Elizalde, piano
  • Saturday, February 8, 8 pm, Chapel - Artist Series:  Rachel Lee, violin; [Conservatory students should pick up free tickets at box office]
  • Thursday, February 20, 8 p.m., Harper Hall - Faculty Recital:  Lawrence Chamber Players with Anthony Padilla, piano.  Brahms Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor
  • Wednesday, February 26, 6:30 p.m., Harper Hall - Guest Recital:  Hiroko Yajima, violin; Anthony Padilla, piano. works by Mozart and Faure
  • Wednesday, February 26, Chapel, 8 p.m. - New Music at Lawrence:  Roomful of Teeth [highly recommended]
  • Saturday, March 1, 11 a.m., Harper Hall – Student Recital: Tess Vogel
  • Sunday, March 2, 1 p.m., Harper Hall - Instrumental Collaborative Piano Class Recital [recommended]
  • Tuesday, March 4, 9 p.m., Chapel – Keyboard Department Recital
  • Sunday, March 9, 1 p.m., Harper Hall - Student Recital: Elisabeth Foran, piano
  • Wednesday, March 12, 8 p.m., Harper Hall – Student Recital: Michael Gold, piano

Fall Term 2013

  • Faculty recital: Bill Carrothers, jazz piano, with Dave King, percussion and Billy Peterson, bass; Wednesday, September 18, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Luba Poliak, piano; Sunday, September 22, 3 p.m., Chapel
  • Recital: David Rubin '12, violin, and Anna Reiser '07, piano; Sunday, September 29, 1 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Faculty recital: John Daniel, trumpet, with Nicholas Towns, piano; Sunday, September 29, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Kristin Lee, violin, Clancy Newman, cello, and Michael Mizrahi, piano; Monday, September 30, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Aleck Karis, piano; Wednesday, October 16, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Student recital: Anthony Capparelli; Saturday, October 19, 1 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Student recital: Alex Hurlburt; Saturday, October 19, 3 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Cleveland Duo: Chamber music for violin, saxophone, and piano; Sunday, October 20, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Douglas Humpherys, piano; Thursday, October 31, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Master class: Douglas Humpherys, piano; Friday November 1, 4:30 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Student recital: Benny Wollin, piano; Saturday, November 2, 3 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Guest recital: Betsy Husby, cello, with Alexander Chernyshe, piano; Wednesday, November 7, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Woodwind/String/Piano Chamber Music Recital; Sunday, November 10, 11:30 a.m., Harper Hall
  • Student recital: Max Feldkamp; Sunday, November 10, 3 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Faculty recital: Catherine Kautsky; Sunday, November 10, 8 p.m., Chapel
  • Student recital: Gus Christiensen; Monday, November 11, 8 p.m., Harper Hall
  • Faculty Chamber Concert featuring Bartok's Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion; Tuesday, November 19, 8 p.m., Harper Hall

 

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube