Music of Our Time at
Lawrence University Conservatory of Music

Next New Music @ Lawrence Event


Marcos BalterStacy Garrop

The Music of Marcos Balter and Stacy Garrop: Saxophone and Composition Collaboration Project

Sunday, February 19, 2017, 8:00 p.m.
Harper Hall

In February of 2017, Lawrence will have the honor of welcoming award-winning composers Marcos Balter and Stacy Garrop to campus. Marcos’ music has been featured worldwide in venues such as Carnegie Hall, Köln Philharmonie, Teatro de Madrid, and Tokyo’s Bunka Kaykan. Stacy Garrop’s music is centered on dramatic and lyrical storytelling. 

The sharing of stories is a defining element of our humanity; we strive to share with others the experiences and concepts that we find compelling. Stacy shares stories by taking audiences on sonic journeys – some simple 

and beautiful, while others are complicated and dark – depending on the needs and dramatic shape of the story.
During their visit, Marcos and Stacy will work with current Lawrentian working on their music, and Lawrence composition students writing their own music inspired by the two composers work. This two-term long event will culminate in a portrait concert of Marcos and Stacy’s music on February 19th.

Other New Music Events

Sunday, January 8, 2017, 7p
Harper Hall
Music by Scelsi, Andrew Norman, Kaija Saariaho, Daniel Bjarnason, Schumann, and more

Friday, January 20, 2017, 8p
Faculty composition recital: Andrew Cole
Esch-Hurvis Room, Warch Campus Center

Sunday, March 5, 2017, 8p
Michael Mizrahi Studio Recital
Featuring new solo piano works by Lawrence composition students
Harper Hall

Wednesday, March 8, 2017, 8p
Works for Voice and Fixed Media
Harper Hall

Monday, April 3, 2017, 8p
Faculty recital: Timothy van Albright, trombone and Dane Richeson, percussion
Music by Wuorinen, Marc Mellits, and more



LarryU Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube