The string department offers a program of study focusing on solo, chamber, and orchestral literature. The department endeavors to develop exceptional individual musicianship through intensive private study and frequent contact with the faculty.

Students perform in chamber ensembles, weekly studio classes, master classes, departmental recitals, studio recitals, and the Lawrence Symphony Orchestra. The orchestral program offers an impressive array of literature ranging from the symphonies of Mozart to Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. Intense performance study is a central component of the Conservatory curriculum for all students.

Conservatory students and graduates have won numerous awards, including the Grace Vamos Competition and the Neale-Silva Competition. Graduates are admitted into the most competitive graduate programs in the country with scholarships or assistantships.

Visiting Artists

There are frequent opportunities for interaction with guest artists. Recent guests include: Rachel Barton Pine, Rufus Reid, David Finckel, Pinchas Zuckerman, the Colorado Quartet, the Borodin Quartet, Turtle Island String Quartet, and Janos Starker. Students also study off campus with faculty at summer music festivals such as Aspen, Banff, and Tanglewood.

Winter 2017 Events

Wed, Jan. 4 8pm Harper Hall Recital: Brandin Kreuder ‘16, violin and Craig Jordan, piano
Thurs, Jan 5 8pm Cinema “Composed” documentary about performance and performance anxiety
Fri, Jan 6 7pm Chapel Janet Anthony Convocation: “Adventures in Music Making: 20 years of Cross-Cultural Exchange in Haiti”
Tues, Jan 10 11:10am Chapel Master class: Rudolf Haken, Viola
Wed, Jan 11 4:30pm MD156 Master class: Lindsey Crabb ‘09, cello
Wed, Jan 11 8:00pm Harper Hall Recital: Lindsey Crabb ‘09, cello
Sat, Jan 14 5pm, Harper Hall Recital: Sarah Ogden, cello
Thurs, Jan 26 8pm Harper Hall Recital: Nat Sattler, viola
Sat, Jan 28 8pm, Chapel Concert: Lawrence Symphony Orchestra 
Fri, Feb 3 8pm, Chapel Artist Series: Elias String Quartet
Sat, Feb 4 1pm Harper Hall Recital: Meghan Murphy, violin
Sat, Feb 4 3pm Harper Hall Recital: Amanda Milke, violin and Gawain Usher, viola
Sat, Feb 18 4pm Chapel Concert: Lawrence Chamber Players
Sun, Feb 19 3pm Harper Hall Recital: Guitar Studio
Sat, March 4 1pm Harper Hall Recital: Eleanor Legault, violin and Julia Tibbetts, viola
Sun, March 5 1:30pm Harper Hall Recital: String chamber music
Fri, March 10 8pm, Chapel Lawrence Symphony Orchestra concert
Sat, March 11 Times TBD, SH 163 String juries 
Sun, March 12 Times TBD Harper Hall String juries
     


LarryU Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube