Awards & Prizes

A variety of awards and prizes are made to students and faculty members at the annual Honors Convocation in the spring, including:

The John J. and Graciela Alfieri Tuition Scholarship in Spanish
The Mrs. H. K. Babcock Award, for service to students
The Paul V. Bacon Prize in Latin
The Louis C. Baker Memorial Award in Modern Languages
The Baker Prize in Modern Languages
The Ruth Bateman Award, for excellence in scholarship, athletic ability and leadership by a woman
The Andrew C. Berry-James C. Stewart Prize in Mathematics
The Philip and Rosemary Wiley Bradley Achievement Scholarship in Economics
The Campus Life Award, for leadership and service
The Iden Charles Champion Award in Commerce and Industry, to a student in the Department of Economics
The Iden Charles Champion Cup, for excellence in scholarship, athletic ability, college spirit and loyalty
The Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry
The POLYED Organic Chemistry Award
The Senior Chemistry Award
The CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award
The F. Theodore Cloak Award in Theatre
The Sophomore Prize in Computer Science
The Senior Prize in Computer Science
The Maurice P. and Regina C. Cunningham Prize in Greek
The Maurice Cunningham Phi Beta Kappa Prize, to an outstanding junior
The Margaret Gary Daniels Keyboard Performance Award
The Diderrich Prize in Creative Writing
The Clyde Duncan Scholarship
The Miriam Clapp Duncan Award in Organ and Harpsichord
The Herman Erb Prize in German
The John Herbert and Mamie E. Farley Prize Scholarship in Philosophy
The Fraternity Scholarship Cup
The Faculty Convocation Award
The Outstanding Freshman Athletic Award for Men
The Outstanding Freshman Athletic Award for Women
The Freshman Studies Teaching Award
The Freshman Studies Writing Prize
The Christine Gerdes Award in Anthropology
The Bertrand A. Goldgar Fellowship
The Judith Anne Gustafson Memorial Award, for outstanding scholarship and character
The Hicks Prize in Fiction
The Hicks Prize in Poetry
The Paul C. Hollinger Award in Music History
The Betty Champion Hustace Award in Art History
The Marjory Irvin Prize, for excellence in piano performance
The Anne Prioleau Jones Tuition Scholarship in French
The Ralph V. Landis Award, for outstanding contributions to Lawrence athletics by a male athlete
The Lantern Community Service Award
The Latin League of Wisconsin College Awards
The Charles F. Lauter International Student Prize, awarded for scholarship, leadership, service and support for the international community at Lawrence
The Letterwinner Award, for outstanding athletic participation
The La Vahn Maesch Prize Scholarship in Organ
The Jessie Mae Pate McConagha Prize, for scholarship in history
The William A. McConagha Prize, for excellence in economics
The John F. McMahon Tuition Scholarship in German
The Elizabeth Black Miller String Scholarships
The James Ming Scholarship in musical composition
The Mortar Board Honorary Award, for faculty excellence
The Edwin H. Olson Award in Human Services
The Peabody Prize in Latin
The Phi Beta Kappa Freshman Scholarship Prize
The Pi Kappa Lambda Composition Award
The Pi Kappa Lambda Jazz Composition Award
The Pi Kappa Lambda Freshman Prize
The Pi Kappa Lambda Music Education Teaching Award
The Political Science Journal Award
The Charles E. Pond Award for Men
The Pond Athletic Award for Women
The Mojmir Povolny Prize in Government
The Presser Foundation Music Scholarship
The E. Dane Purdo Award, to an exceptional student in art or ceramics
The William F. Raney Prize in History
The Marion Read Award, for outstanding contributions to Lawrence athletics
The Gervais E. and Mary Katherine Reed Award, for achievement and service, to a senior woman
The Alexander J. Reid Prize in English
The Estelle Ray Reid Scholarship in Art
The Estelle Ray Reid Prize in Library Science
The Thomas B. Reid Scholarship in Journalism
The Elizabeth Richardson Award, for outstanding women majoring in studio art and art history
The Sumner Richman Student Research Award in Biology
The Patricia Ritter Prize in Chinese Culture
The Patricia Ritter Prize in Chinese Language
The Debbie Roman Prize in Chemistry
The Howard and Helen Russell Award for Excellence in Biological Research
The Louis Henry Schutte Memorial Prize in English
The John H. Scidmore Memorial Award, for scholarship, service and devotion to senior classmates
The Mita Sen Award for Societal Impact at Lawrence University
The Senior Art Prize for Men
The Sorority Scholarship Cup
The Warren Hurst Stevens Prize Scholarship, for scholarship and useful activity in university affairs by a junior man
The Tank-Palmquist-Ross Award in Geology
The Jean Wiley Thickens Prize, in science education
The Tichenor Prize in English
The E. Graham Waring Prize in Religious Studies
The Edwin N. and Ruth Z. West Scholarship, for scholarship and leadership
The Ralph White Prize in Mathematics
The Alexander Wiley Prize, for principled independence of thought, moral courage and creative commitment to a significant cause
The Charlotte Wood Prize in English
The Henry Merritt Wriston Scholarship Award