President's Committee on Diversity Affairs (PCDA)


The purpose of the President’s Committee on Diversity Affairs is to foster diversity in the Lawrence community and curriculum and to help create a more inclusive campus community. Diversity brings us into contact with different experiences and perspectives, helping us to question our beliefs and assumptions. An inclusive community, one that welcomes people of all backgrounds, experiences, and identities (or expressions of identity), is necessary for diversity to serve as a catalyst for learning. Lawrence seeks to include people of all nationalities, ethnicities, gender identities, sexual orientations, socioeconomic statuses, cultural backgrounds, religions, abilities or disabilities, ages, military/veteran status, and others who bring varied perspectives to campus.


To accomplish its purpose, the President’s Committee on Diversity Affairs will strive to promote in the Lawrence community:

• a campus demographic reflective of the U.S. and world’s pluralistic society;

• an environment conducive to attracting and retaining students, faculty, and staff of historically underrepresented groups; • a curriculum that considers diversity and its implications for contemporary life;

• a co-curricular program that fosters inclusion and celebrates diversity; and

• a climate of respect for different identities and points of view.


Changes in structure

In order to better address the issues on diversity and inclusion that affect our campus, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion and Associate Dean of the Faculty Kimberly Barrett wants to restructure PCDA and divide it into five subcommittees, each with a specific focus and mission. To facilitate more productive communication between the administration and the student body, a student will be appointed to each of the five subcommittees (this is in addition to the CODA representatives who already serve on the PCDA steering committee).


The following list details the function of each subcommittee. 

1. Campus Climate

· Chair: Paris Wicker, Associate Dean of Students for Campus Programs

· Contact:

2. Opportunity/Achievement Gap

· Chair: Monita Mohammadian Gray, Dean of Academic Success

· Contact:

3. Employee Recruitment

· Chair: Karen Hoffmann, Assoc Professor of English & Diversity Enhancement

· Contact:

4. Employee Retention

· Chair: Rochelle Blindauer, Director of Human Resources

· Contact:

5. Professional Development

· Chair: Curt Lauderdale, Dean of Students

· Contact:





Funding Request Form

The funding request form should be used by students looking to request new or additional funds from the LUCC general fund, or by groups wanting to reallocate funds from their student organization's current budget.

Finance Committee meets on Thursday evenings starting at 8:00pm.

The funding request form must be submitted by 12pm on Wednesday to be considered for the next Finance Committee meeting agenda.

After you have submitted your request, you will be contacted by email to arrange a time to come to a Finance Committee meeting.

Recognition Request Form

The Recognition Request Form should be used students looking to create a new student organization on campus. 

Steering Committee meets at 8:00pm on Tuesday evenings.

Recognition request forms must be submitted by 8:00pm on Monday to be considered for the next Steering Committee agenda.

After you have submitted your request you will be contacted by email to arrange a time to come to a Steering Committee meeting.


Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube LarryU