2015-16 Multicultural Groups and Diversity-Related Organizations

Please note that the descriptions listed below were provided by campus life.

 

Alianza
Meeting Information
Location: Memorial Hall ; Day: Monday; Time: 8:00pm; Frequency: Once a week
Contacts
Amy A. Ongiri (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) amy.a.ongiri@lawrence.edu
Claudia Marie Loza claudia.m.loza@lawrence.edu
Janedelie Romero janedelie.romero@lawrence.edu
Description
Alianza is an organization focused on bringing awareness to the social/political issues domestic and international Latin@ students face both on campus and in the world through educative workshops and events. We consider ourselves a support group on this campus, where Latin@ students can meet to discuss and express ideas, concerns, and issues related to their culture and identity as students and Latinas.

 

All is One! Empowering Young Women of Color (AIO)
Meeting Information
Location: Diversity Center; Day: Tuesday; Time: 7 pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Cheyenne Janee Van Dyke cheyenne.j.vandyke@lawrence.edu
Pa Lee Moua (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) palee.moua@lawrence.edu
Description
The purpose of A.I.O. is to help bring attention and awareness to young women of color on campus. We strive to unite these women on campus to have a greater voice and display the diversity that is present. We want to promote the love, togetherness, and support women should have for each other.

 

American Sign Language Club
Meeting Information
Location: Arthur Vining Davis Room; Day: Saturday; Time: 4:00 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Kyle Brent Labak kyle.b.labak@lawrence.edu
Description
The primary purposes of ASL Club are 1.) to learn American Sign Language and learn about Deaf culture, 2.) to create an immersive practice space, and 3.) to (potentially) hold events connecting Lawrence to the Deaf Appleton community.
Website
http://sorgs.lawrence.edu/LUASL

 

Amnesty International
Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: (none)
Contacts
Jason Brozek (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) jason.brozek@lawrence.edu
Landis Avery Stewart landis.a.stewart@lawrence.edu
Description
Amnesty discusses various different human rights in meetings, makes the community aware of human rights abuses throughout the world, and holds events on campus to raise awareness at Lawrence and the Appleton Community.

 

Black Student Union (BSU)
Meeting Information
Location: Sankofa House; Day: Thurdsay; Time: 9pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Paris D. Wicker (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) paris.d.wicker@lawrence.edu
Kevin Joseph Buckhalton kevin.j.buckhalton@lawrence.edu
Bernard Lilly bernard.lilly@lawrence.edu
Description
Black Student Union is an organization committed to promoting cultural diversity and unity. We focus on creating a sense of belonging for our members and educating the wider campus on issues of social justice, mainly concerning minorities. Although our focus is social activism and addressing political, economic, and social issues that affect ethnic minorities, we welcome any Lawrence student regardless of sex, religion, or race.


Chinese Students Association (CSA)
Meeting Information
Location: Diversity Center; Day: Wednesday; Time: 9pm; Frequency: Biweekly
Contacts
Kuo-ming Sung (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) kuo-ming.sung@lawrence.edu
Kangkang Wang kangkang.wang@lawrence.edu
Luqiong Wang luqiong.wang@lawrence.edu
Yan Li yan.li@lawrence.edu
Description
The Chinese Student Association wants more people to know more about Chinese culture, get involved, and try to experience Chinese holidays.

 

Community of Diversity Affairs (CODA)

Meeting Information

Location: Diversity Center; Day: Thursday; Time: 7:00PM; Frequency: Weekly

Contacts

Guilberly Louissaint CODA@lawrence.edu or guilberly.louissaint@lawrence.edu

Description

The Committee on Diversity Affairs is a sub-committee of LUCC which helps to represent all student identities, especially those that are under-represented, in the decision making process. CODA exists to support different diversity focused organizations on campus by promoting the groups’ events and interests while addressing issues of injustice as they arise, using a social justice framework. CODA provides a safe space to discuss multiple perspectives regarding life at Lawrence as it works to brainstorm and develop solutions to help create a more inclusive campus. The committee also assists the Assistant Dean of Students at the Diversity Center.

Website

https://www.lawrence.edu/students/student_life/lucc/standing_committees/node/7258

 

Critical Thinkers, Humanists, and Unbelievers at Lawrence University (CTHULU)
Meeting Information
Location: Arthur Vining Davis Room; Day: Wednesday; Time: 7:30 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
John P. Dreher (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) john.p.dreher@lawrence.edu
Ariel Rose Worley ariel.r.worley@lawrence.edu
Alexa Lauren Blumenstock alexa.l.blumenstock@lawrence.edu
Description
The purposes of the organization shall be to: 1) promote and practice the open, rational, and scientific examination of the universe and our place in it; 2) that ethics and morality can be meaningfully based on rational and humanistic ideals and values; 3) promote skeptical inquiry; 4) provide community for atheists, agnostics, humanists, skeptics, naturalists, and other freethinkers; 5) organize activities such as forums for discussion, guest speakers, and debates that educate Lawrence University and the surrounding community; 6) foster acceptance of freethinkers; 7) advocate for the separation between church and state
Website
http://www.cthulu-ssa.org

 

Cultural Food Club (CFC)
Meeting Information
Location: International House; Day: Varies; Time: Varies; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Leah D. McSorley (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) leah.d.mcsorley@lawrence.edu
Ryan Andrew Aiello ryan.a.aiello@lawrence.edu
Description
The goal of the Cultural Food Club is to promote awareness, knowledge and understanding of different cultures of the world with the main focus on food. By creating traditional dishes, the group aims to develop an appreciation of various cultures. Each event will focus around food in order to not only provide opportunities to try new cultural palates, but also as a means of bringing our members together in an informal environment. With these interactions we hope to create more profound connections between our members that go deeper than the food we create. So bring your suggestions, your good energy, and your love of other cultures. Learn new cooking skills, socialize, and expand your understanding of the world.
Website
http://facebook.com/groups/LUculturalfoodclub

 

Downer Feminist Council (DFC)
Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: (none)
Contacts
Helen Boyd Kramer (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) helen.boyd@lawrence.edu
Allison Elizabeth Wray allison.e.wray@lawrence.edu
Shelby Lorraine Johnson shelby.l.johnson@lawrence.edu
Description
DFC stands for Downer Feminist Council. We are a student group that promotes feminism on the Lawrence University campus. We define feminism as: the advocacy of women in the interest of gender equality. In order to do this, we organize events on campus to promote action and discussion regarding issues important to feminism and women. Our feminist agenda is intersectional - we are committed to putting feminism in conversation with issues of gender expression, sexuality, race, class, ability, etc. Some issues of interest to us as college feminists include rape culture, domestic abuse, sexual harassment, workspace and academic equality, and access to reproductive healthcare. Past events include Take Back the Night, Vagina Monologues, a March to End Victim Blaming, Cookies and Contraceptives with Planned Parenthood, and more.
Website
http://www.lawrence.edu/sorg/dfc/

 

Gay, Lesbian, or Whatever (GLOW)
Meeting Information
Location: Memorial Hall; Day: Thursday; Time: 8:15 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
John Blevins Walstrom john.b.walstrom@lawrence.edu
Andrea E.J. Guenther-Pal (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) andrea.guenther-pal@lawrence.edu
Jasper Olsen jasper.olsen@lawrence.edu
Description
GLOW is for students who care about LGBTQ issues and welcomes all people, regardless of gender or sexuality.
Website
http://www.lawrence.edu/sorg/glow/

 

GlobeMed
Meeting Information
Location: Briggs 317; Day: Wednesday; Time: 8pm ; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Judith Humphries (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) judith.humphries@lawrence.edu
Bhavana Suvarna bhavana.suvarna@lawrence.edu
Clarissa Dawn Frayn clarissa.d.frayn@lawrence.edu
Description
GlobeMed aims to strengthen the movement for global health equity by empowering students and communities to work together to improve the health of the impoverished around the world.

 

Hillel/Chavurah (Circle of Friends)
Meeting Information
Location: 4th Floor Warch; Day: Wednesday; Time: 9:15 pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Rose Wasielewski (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) rose.wasielewski@lawrence.edu
Arielle M. Kaye arielle.m.kaye@lawrence.edu
Elana Beth Lambert elana.b.lambert@lawrence.edu
Description
We welcome all students to learn about and celebrate Jewish life and culture in a way that is welcoming, educational, and fun for the greater Lawrence community.

 

Hispanic Culture Club (VIVA)
Meeting Information
Location: International House; Day: Tuesdays ; Time: 7:00pm; Frequency: 1hr
Contacts
Andrea Magana andrea.magana@lawrence.edu
Description
VIVA Hispanic Club is an organization promoting awareness of Hispanic culture and celebrating its richness. Through campus programming, special events, and community service, we hope to educate the Lawrence campus and the greater Appleton community about Hispanic issues. VIVA is not limited solely to Latinos and Spanish speakers, but welcomes any individual regardless of race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, or nationality.

 

Korean Culture Club (KCC)
Meeting Information
Location: Warch Campus Center 4th floor; Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: once a month
Contacts
Matty Wegehaupt (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor)matthew.wegehaupt@lawrence.edu
Kangbok Lee kangbok.lee@lawrence.edu
Jisu Park jisu.park@lawrence.edu
Hyung-Ju Suh hyung-ju.suh@lawrence.edu
Tae Gyeong Hamm taegyeong.hamm@lawrence.edu
Description
Korean Culture Club (KCC) aims to share Korean culture. 'Culture' contains both traditional and modern forms that are not only related to popular culture, but also to social and political culture. In order to fulfill its mission, KCC will foster various cultural events. In addition, the club will open regular discussion sessions and student forums, seeking to educate the Lawrence Community to understand culture, history, and contemporary issues of Korea in depth. KCC will also engage in active volunteering to pursue its goal of cultural sharing not only in the Lawrence community, but also in the Appleton community.
Website
http://lukoreacultureclub.blogspot.com/


Lawrence Christian Fellowship (LCF)
Meeting Information
Location: Mead-Witter Room, Warch ; Day: Wednesday; Time: 9:00pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Alan Parks (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) alan.e.parks@lawrence.edu
Kenneth W. Bozeman (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) kenneth.w.bozeman@lawrence.edu
Joanne H. Bozeman (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) joanne.h.bozeman@lawrence.edu
Kathryn Grace Bellile kathryn.g.bellile@lawrence.edu
Description
Lawrence Christian Fellowship is a student run, christ-centered Christian community on campus. On a weekly basis, LCF consists of a large group meeting, bible studies, prayer meetings, and men's and women's groups. We are an open community that welcomes all denominations and individuals interested in exploring the Christian faith.
Website
http://sorgs.lawrence.edu/lcf

 

Lawrence International (LI)
Meeting Information
Location: Parrish and Perille rooms; Day: Thursday; Time: 6:30pm ; Frequency: Every other Thursday
Contacts
Leah D. McSorley (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) leah.d.mcsorley@lawrence.edu
Bimalsen Rajbhandari bimalsen.rajbhandari@lawrence.edu
Description
Lawrence International works toward increasing awareness and integration of international cultures within the Lawrence and Fox Cities communities.Both international and domestic students play key roles in achieving the goals of the club: helping LI foster a sense of community, enhancing camaraderie between its members, providing platforms for the presentation of diverse cultures, and creating exposure to global affairs and customs.
Website
http://www.lawrence.edu/students/resources/international/lawrence_international

 

Lawrence University Breaking Stigmas (LUBS)
Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: (none)
Description
Lawrence University Breaking Stigmas, LUBS, is meant to do just that: break stigmas about learning disabilities. We are here to help break stigmas and overcome the fears surrounding academic environments and cognitive disabilities. Our mission is to educate and initiate awareness for students, faculty, and friends. We do this by creating a supportive group to encourage self-awareness and acceptance by recognizing limitations and revitalizing our strengths to succeed in whatever we may choose. We are not a slave to our weaknesses, but an example of embracing obstacles in pursuit of achievement and well-being.
Website
https://www.facebook.com/LawrenceUniversityBreakingStigmas?fref=ts

 

Lawrence University Mock Trial Club
Meeting Information
Location: Main Hall; Day: Wednesday; Time: 7pm; Frequency: Weekly (T1&2), Monthly (T3)
Contacts
Mishal Ayaz mishal.ayaz@lawrence.edu
Steven Wulf (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) steven.wulf@lawrence.edu
Description
Mock Trial brings together students interested in the legal profession and, in particular, in the process and proceedings of civil and criminal trials. Members compete in regional mock trial competitions, reviewing and preparing cases, planning strategies, and gaining real experience presenting and arguing cases.

 

Lawrence University Unitarian Universalists (LUUU)
Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: (none)
Contacts
Robert F. Williams (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) robert.f.williams@lawrence.edu
Abigail Christine Hindson abigail.c.hindson@lawrence.edu
Description
LUUU is a place where everyone is welcome, where spiritual and intellectual growth is encouraged, where the interdependent web of life is respected, and where students are taught to celebrate all the world's religions. LUUU aims to be a community for moral and spiritual support in this academic atmosphere.

 

Men of Color Alliance (MOCA)
Meeting Information
Location: Diversity Center; Day: Tuesday; Time: 7:00 pm; Frequency: 8:00pm
Contacts
Guilberly Louissaint guilberly.louissaint@lawrence.edu
Amy A. Ongiri (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) amy.a.ongiri@lawrence.edu
Description
MOCA provides the men of color on Lawrence's campus with a safe space and a support system where they can talk about possible solutions to issues facing them.

 

Pan Asian Organization (PAO)
Meeting Information
Location: Memorial Hall Room 116; Day: Tuesday; Time: 8:00 pm; Frequency: weekly
Contacts
Angie Jiali Lu angie.j.lu@lawrence.edu
Pa Lee Moua (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) palee.moua@lawrence.edu
Veronica Maisea Thao veronica.m.thao@lawrence.edu
Evelina Paj Tawm Lam Vang evelina.p.vang@lawrence.edu
Description
Pan-Asian Organization aims at promoting Asian cultures on campus and supporting Asians and Asian Americans on identity awareness, leadership development, and social involvement. We achieve these by hosting educational events, community activities, philanthropy work, and discussion forums.

 

People to People International (PTPI)
Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none); Time: (none); Frequency: (none)
Contacts
Ryan Andrew Aiello ryan.a.aiello@lawrence.edu
Description
Founded in 1956 by President Dwight D. Eisenhower, PTPI promotes international understanding and friendship through educational, cultural, and humanitarian activities.

 

Slam Poetry Club
Meeting Information
Location: Diversity Center; Day: Friday; Time: 7:15PM; Frequency: 1hr & 15Mins
Contacts
Harrison Lewis Barber harrison.l.barber@lawrence.edu
Maxx Imani Powell-Kelley maxx.i.powell-kelley@lawrence.edu
Description
The purpose of Slam Poetry Club is to provide a place where students in the Lawrence community can come together to celebrate the art of slam poetry through performing pieces of their own work and holding monthly poetry slams. The Slam Poetry Club provides students a time and place in which they can showcase and express their ideas/opinions/beliefs through poetic form. In our weekly meetings we will allow time for poets to share pieces that they have written and plan monthly poetry slams in which we can share our poetry to the rest of the LU community. Slam Poetry is a very expressive, interactive art that is unlike any other forms of writing. As an organization, our purpose is to use Slam Poetry as a way to help members of the LU community find their voice and use it to Inspire, Connect, and Express.

 

Students for Justice in Palestine
Meeting Information
Location: Perrile dining room; Day: Monday; Time: 6 pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Tamara Nassar tamara.nassar@lawrence.edu
Mahmoud Shaar mahmoud.shaar@lawrence.edu
Jake Nicholas Valente jake.n.valente@lawrence.edu
Description
We promote the cause of justice, speak out against oppression, work to educate members of our community specifically about the plight of the Palestinian people and raise awareness of the oppression and vast suffering of the Palestinian people under the Israeli Military occupation and provide students with an alternative resource of information to the mainstream media.
Website
http://sjp-lu.tumblr.com
 

LarryU Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube