Multicultural Groups and Diversity Related Organizations

Please note that the descriptions listed below were provided by campus life.

 

Alianza
Meeting Information
Location: Memorial Hall, Room 002; Day: Wednesdays; Time: 8:30pm; Frequency: Once a week
Contacts
Ricardo Rivera ricardo.rivera@lawrence.edu
Nabor Vazquez nabor.vazquez@lawrence.edu
Description:
Alianza is an organization focused on bringing awareness to the social/political issues domestic and international Latin@ students face both on campus and in the world through educative workshops and events. We consider ourselves a support group on this campus, where Latin@ students can meet to discuss and express ideas, concerns, and issues related to their culture and identity as students and Latin@s.

All is One! Empowering Young Women of Color (AIO)
Meeting Information
Location: International house; Day: Tuesday; Time: 6 pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Mauranda Elise Owens mauranda.e.owens@lawrence.edu
Keira Jett   keira.e.jett@lawrence.edu
Description:
The purpose of A.I.O. is to help bring attention and awareness to young women of color on campus. We strive to unite these women on campus to have a greater voice and display the diversity that is present. We want to promote the love, togetherness, and support women should have for each other.

American Sign Language Club (ASL)
Meeting Information:
Location: Arthur Vining Davis Room; Day: Saturday; Time: 4:00; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Julianna Faith Basile julianna.f.basile@lawrence.edu
Description:
The primary purposes of ASL Club are 1.) to learn American Sign Language and learn about Deaf culture, 2.) to create an immersive practice space, and 3.) to (potentially) hold events connecting Lawrence to the Deaf Appleton community.
Website:
http://sorgs.lawrence.edu/LUASL

Amnesty International
Meeting Information:
Location: Warch Campus Center, Arthur Room; Day: Thursday; Time: 6pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Alfiza Urmanova alfiza.urmanova@lawrence.edu
Description:
Amnesty discusses various different human rights in meetings, makes the community aware of human rights abuses throughout the world, and holds events on campus to raise awareness at Lawrence and the Appleton Community.

Arab Culture Club
Meeting Information:
Location: Arthur Vining Davis room; Day: Tuesday; Time: 5:00 PM; Frequency: Biweekly
Contacts: Jawad Alweleidat jawad.alweleidat@lawrence.edu
Mahmoud Shaar mahmoud.shaar@lawrence.edu
Description:
Arab Culture Club's mission is to acquaint the student body with the rich Arabic culture and heritage and engage in intercultural dialogue through the promotion of lectures and cultural events. We provide information for anyone who is interested in Arab culture or language.

Black Student Union (BSU)
Meeting Information:
Location: Sankofa House; Day: Thursday; Time: 7pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Annyce Nakia Brackins annyce.n.brackins@lawrence.edu
Briana Joyce Faulkes briana.j.faulkes@lawrence.edu
Description:
Black Student Union is an organization committed to promoting cultural diversity and unity. We focus on creating a sense of belonging for our members and educating the wider campus on issues of social justice, mainly concerning minorities. Although our focus is social activism and addressing political, economic, and social issues that affect ethnic minorities, we welcome any Lawrence student regardless of sex, religion, or race.

Chinese Students Association (CSA)
Meeting Information:
Location: Diversity center; Day: Thursday; Time: 7pm; Frequency: Biweekly/event week
Contacts:
Meredith Luo yu.luo@lawrence.edu
Olivia Lin xinyi.lin@lawrence.edu
Ruby Liu shuxian.liu@lawrence.edu
Description:
Chinese Students Association invites Chinese students and everyone who are interested and want to know more about Chinese culture and languages, to get involved and enjoy the events.

Colores: Empowering LGBTQ People of Color
Meeting Information:
Location: Memorial 105; Day: Mondays; Time: 6pm; Frequency: Every week
Contacts:
Amy Degraff-Castro amelia.c.degraff-castro@lawrence.edu
Jessenia Zelaya           jessenia.j.zelaya@lawrence.edu
Description:
Colores: Empowering LGBTQ People of Color serves students at the intersection of being people of color and LGBTQ.

Community of Diversity Affairs (CODA)
Meeting Information:
Location: Memorial Hall, Room 114; Day: Tuesdays; Time: 7:30pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Lauren McLester-Davis lauren.w.mclester-davis@lawrence.edu

Cultural Food Club (CFC)
Meeting Information:
Location: Colman Loft B (Henry); Day: Meetings Sundays, events vary; Time: 7:00pm; Frequency: Twice Weekly
Contacts:
Ryan Aiello   ryan.a.aiello@lawrence.edu
Claudia Simmons    claudia.m.simmons@lawrence.edu
Gretchen Niederriter   gretchen.a.niederriter@lawrence.edu
Zach Manning   zachary.a.manning@lawrence.edu
Description:
The goal of the Cultural Food Club is to promote awareness, knowledge and understanding of different cultures of the world with the main focus on food. By creating traditional dishes, the group aims to develop an appreciation of various cultures. Each event will focus around food in order to not only provide opportunities to try new cultural palates, but also as a means of bringing our members together in an informal environment. With these interactions we hope to create more profound connections between our members that go deeper than the food we create. So bring your suggestions, good energy, and love of other cultures. Learn new cooking skills, socialize, and expand your understanding of the world.
Website:
http://facebook.com/groups/LUculturalfoodclub

Cultural Music Club
Meeting Information:
Location: Memorial 114; Day: Friday; Time: 5:30; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Sterling Ray Boyd sterling.r.boyd@lawrence.edu
Description:
The Cultural Music Club is a space for students interested in learning about the different cultures through their shared love of music. It is a space for you to relax, listen to music, and have cool discussions on culture and how it relates to music.

GlobeMed
Meeting Information:
Location: International House; Day: Wednesday; Time: 8pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Ellie Van Why elizabeth.m.vanwhy@lawrence.edu
Augie Groeschel-Johnson augusta.groeschel-johnson@lawrence.edu
Description:
GlobeMed aims to strengthen the movement for global health equity by empowering students and communities to work together to improve the health of the impoverished around the world.

Hillel
Meeting Information:
Location: Sabin House; Day: Friday; Time: 5:30 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts:
Julian Nathaniel Cohen julian.n.cohen@lawrence.edu
Description:
We welcome all students to learn about and celebrate Jewish life and culture in a way that is welcoming, educational, and fun for the greater Lawrence community.

Humanities Diversity Initiative
Meeting Information:
Location: Sabin House; Day: Monday; Time: 5:00pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts :
Jack McGee jack.k.mcgee@lawrence.edu 
Deep Tripurana deepankar.v.tripurana@lawrence.edu
Description:
HDI is the Humanities Diversity Initiative. Founded in September 2017, it serves as a student-faculty organization for the academic departments of the humanities at Lawrence University. HDI highlights and promotes dialogues about issues of diversity that are front and center to the humanities.

Hispanic Culture Club (VIVA)

Meeting Information
Location: (none); Day: (none) ; Time: 7:00pm; Frequency: 1hr
Contacts
Thelma B. Jimenez-Anglada thelma.jimenez-anglada@lawrence.edu
Daniel Alejandro Vaca Arboleda daniel.a.vacaarboleda@lawrence.edu
Description
VIVA Hispanic Club is an organization promoting awareness of Hispanic culture and celebrating its richness. Through campus programming, special events, and community service, we hope to educate the Lawrence campus and the greater Appleton community about Hispanic issues. VIVA is not limited solely to Latinos and Spanish speakers, but welcomes any individual regardless of race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, or nationality.

Korean Culture Club (KCC)
Meeting Information
Location: Warch Campus Center 4th floor; Day: Wednesday; Time: 6:00 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Mengxuan Wang mengxuan.wang@lawrence.edu
Matty Wegehaupt (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) matthew.wegehaupt@lawrence.edu
Kunho Kim kunho.kim@lawrence.edu
Teresa Park seojung.park@lawrence.edu
Siyu Liu siyu.liu@lawrence.edu
Description
Korean Culture Club(KCC) aims to attract and teach those who are interested in Korean culture through events such as Karaoke, K-pop dance classes, Cabaret, Korean language Session, and food events.
Website
http://lukoreacultureclub.blogspot.com/

Lawrence Christian Fellowship (LCF)
Meeting Information
Location: Mead-Witter Room, Warch ; Day: Wednesday; Time: 9:00pm; Frequency: Weekly
Contacts
Alan Parks (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) alan.e.parks@lawrence.edu
Ken Bozeman (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) kenneth.w.bozeman@lawrence.edu
Joanne H. Bozeman (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) joanne.h.bozeman@lawrence.edu
Maralee Audra Mindock maralee.a.mindock@lawrence.edu
Description
In response to God’s love, grace, and truth: The purpose of Lawrence Christian Fellowship (LCF) is to establish and advance a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: grow in love for God, God’s word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture and God’s purposes in the world.
Website
http://sorgs.lawrence.edu/lcf

Lawrence International (LI)
Meeting Information
Location: Schumann room; Day: Tuesday; Time: 6:00pm ; Frequency: Every other Tuesday
Contacts
Leah D. McSorley (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) leah.d.mcsorley@lawrence.edu
Violet Ngo vy.v.ngo@lawrence.edu
Binita Rajbhandari binita.rajbhandari@lawrence.edu
Tamanna Akram tamanna.akram@lawrence.edu
Description
Lawrence International works toward increasing awareness and integration of international cultures within the Lawrence and Fox Cities communities. Both international and domestic students play key roles in achieving the goals of the club: helping LI foster a sense of community, enhancing camaraderie between its members, providing platforms for the presentation of diverse cultures, and creating exposure to global affairs and customs.
Website
http://www.lawrence.edu/students/resources/international/lawrence_international
  
Lawrence University Unitarian Universalists (LUUU)

Meeting Information
Location: Sabin ; Day: Wednesday; Time: 8:30 PM; Frequency: Weekly
Description
LUUU is a place where everyone is welcome, where spiritual and intellectual growth is encouraged, where the interdependent web of life is respected, and where students are taught to celebrate all the world's religions. LUUU aims to be a community for moral and spiritual support in this academic atmosphere.

Pan Asian Organization (PAO)
Meeting Information
Location: 105 Memorial Hall; Day: Tuesday; Time: 8:00 pm; Frequency: weekly
Contacts
Jason Lau jason.lau@lawrence.edu
Lisa Tran lisa.tran@lawrence.edu
Pa Lee Moua (Fac/Staff/Stud Advisor) palee.moua@lawrence.edu
Description
Pan-Asian Organization aims at promoting Asian cultures on campus and supporting Asians and Asian Americans on identity awareness, leadership development, and social involvement. We achieve these by hosting educational events, community activities, philanthropy work, and discussion forums.
 
Slam Poetry Club

Meeting Information
Location: Memorial 105; Day: Wednesday; Time: 7:00; Frequency: 1hr & 15Mins
Contacts
Christian Rodriguez christian.rodriguez@lawrence.edu
Maxxi Powell-Kelley maxx.i.powell-kelley@lawrence.edu
Description
The purpose of Slam Poetry Club is to provide a place where students in the Lawrence community can come together to celebrate the art of slam poetry through performing pieces of their own work and holding monthly poetry slams. The Slam Poetry Club provides students a time and place in which they can showcase and express their ideas/opinions/beliefs through poetic form. In our weekly meetings we will allow time for poets to share pieces that they have written and plan monthly poetry slams in which we can share our poetry to the rest of the LU community. Slam Poetry is a very expressive, interactive art that is unlike any other forms of writing. As an organization, our purpose is to use Slam Poetry as a way to help members of the LU community find their voice and use it to Inspire, Connect, and Express.

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube